The Jury

Members of the ULI Global Awards for Excellence jury are selected internationally to achieve regional balance and represent several facets of development expertise, including finance, architecture, land planning and development, public affairs, design, and professional services.

Jury members rotate through a three-year service period, which guarantees a diverse and different jury each cycle with new points of view and experiences that reflect the broad expertise of the Institute’s membership.

Jury Procedures
Jurors operate independently, applying the highest standards of evaluation and professional practice as reflected in the code of ethics of the Urban Land Institute. After an extensive awards briefing, each juror is assigned a specific number of submissions to review in advance of the first group meeting. During this first meeting, typically over the course of two days, each juror presents to the rest of the group his or her assigned submissions for debate, evaluation, and qualification. This process typically results in a first group of projects subjected to a final round of evaluation. It is at this final session that the selected finalists emerge.

During the following months, jurors are assigned to visit each finalist project for a closer evaluation on site, where they meet with those responsible for the success of each initiative. At least one juror visits each selected finalist. The goal is to gather closer and profound insights into the operation of each project to gain a detailed understanding of aspects such as financial performance, community impact, development history, design elements, and building innovation.

The jurors convene in a final meeting at which they review each project again. The jury member who visited each project starts the debate with a brief presentation to the rest of the group about the newly gathered insights. Typically after a long day of deliberations, the winners of the ULI Global Awards for Excellence are selected.

2017 Jury Roster

  • Wendy Rowden, Jury Chair, President, 42nd Street Development Corporation
  • Stuart Ackerberg, Chief Executive Officer, Ackerberg
  • Toni Alexander, President and Creative Director, InterCommunications, Inc.
  • Jeff Barber, Principal and Managing Director, Gensler
  • Ame M. Engelhart, Director, Hong Kong Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP
  • Michael Grove, Principal, Sasaki
  • Sophie Henley-Price, Managing Director, STUDIOS Paris, France
  • Lynn Hoffman Carlton, LEED AP Regional Director of Planning HOK
  • Lance K. Josal, FAIA Chief Executive Officer, Callison RTKL
  • Roger G. Orf, Partner, Apollo Management LLP
  • Alex J. Rose, Senior Vice President, Continental Development Corporation
  • Rebecca Stone, AIA, LEED AP BD+C Managing Principal, OZ Architecture

2019 Schedule

Please note that the program is on a hiatus during 2018. It will return in 2019, with a submission period starting in late 2018.

For additional information, please contact

Image Gallery

 / 54