Winners and Finalists

The Robert C. Larson Housing Policy Leadership Awards recognize exemplary state and local programs, policies, and practices that support the production, rehabilitation, or preservation of affordable and workforce housing. View previous winners and finalists at the pages below.

2017 Winner

Washington, D.C.’s Department of Housing and Community Development was selected as the winner of the 2017 Robert C. Larson Housing Policy Leadership Award. The Department has taken a multi-pronged approach to tackle issues facing housing the city’s residents, including the establishment of a significant housing trust fund to support construction and preservation; a streamlined, more efficient process for the disposition of vacant properties; improved programs to encourage homeownership and facilitate attainment for those who would otherwise remain renters; and the creation of a Housing Preservation Strike Force to focus on maintaining existing affordable units.

The 2017 finalists were:

2016 Larson Award Winner

Through its Troubled Buildings Initiative, Chicago has acted aggressively to acquire and improve run-down buildings that pose a threat to communities—and instead rehabilitate vacant and abandoned structures to provide critically needed low-cost housing. Learn more.

2016 Larson Awards Finalists

2015 Larson Awards Winners

Contact us

For more information, email