Management Committee

The 13-member Prize Management Committee elevates and promotes the Nichols Prize. The committee consists of five members who represent ULI, five members who represent the Nichols Family, and three “consensus” members who the Nichols Family nominates and the ULI and Nichols family representatives confirm. Members serve three-year terms, which can repeat. The committee selects the Prize Jury each year. ULI members who are interested in serving on the Prize Management Committee can email

Management Committee

Smedes York
Committee Chair
York Properties Inc.

Wayne Nichols
Nichols Agency

Kay Callison
Miller Nichols Charitable Foundation

Jeannette Nichols
Miller Nichols Charitable Foundation

James M. DeFrancia
Lowe Enterprises Real Estate Group

Harrison Fraker
Professor of Architecture and Urban Design, Department of Architecture
Dean Emeritus, College of Environmental Design
University of California, Berkeley

Paul Goldberger
Contributing Editor, Vanity Fair

Douglas S. Kelbaugh
Professor of Architecture and Urban Planning
A. Alfred Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning
University of Michigan

Edward Mazria
Founder and CEO
Architecture 2030

Jodie W. McLean
Chief Executive Officer

Marilyn Jordan Taylor
Professor of Architecture and Urban Design, Former Dean
University of Pennsylvania Stuart Weitzman School of Design