How to Nominate


Nominations for the 2021 Prize are due by Thursday, December 31, 2020.

Nominations for the 2020 Prize were due by Tuesday, December 31, 2019.

ULI welcomes nominations on a rolling basis with submissions for the following year due at the end of the current year. Anyone may submit a nomination at any time – one does not need to be a member of ULI to nominate or to be a nominee. ULI keeps all nominations in strict confidence, including from the nominee, and asks those who nominate to do the same. ULI accepts self-nominations.


To nominate, please email ULI Members also can submit via Navigator. The jury does not review every nomination ULI receives; your nomination is more likely to progress to the jury if you let us know in detail how your nominee meets the criteria below. You can provide this information in your email to


The ULI J.C. Nichols Prize for Visionaries in Urban Development is given annually to a living person who individually or as a representative of his or her organization, has made a distinguished contribution to community building locally or globally, who has established visionary standards of excellence in the land use and development fields, and whose commitment to creating the highest quality built environment has led to the betterment of our society.

Nominees are not limited to a specific discipline and may include developers, public officials, academics, writers, journalists, researchers, artists, urban planners, and architects, among others. The prize cannot be awarded posthumously.

The Prize will spotlight individuals and organizations that have been on the cutting edge, employing innovative processes, techniques, strategies, and insights to encourage and to achieve the highest quality in development practices and policies at the global, national, or local levels. The Prize will reward accomplishments that honor diversity of land use, design, mobility, lifestyle, population, culture, and race; and it will reflect an awareness of changing technologies and their impact on a sustainable future for our communities.

In assessing how well candidates meet the criteria, jurors consider the following questions:

  1. Vision
    • How are they visionary?
    • In what ways have they provided leadership in originating process or advancing their vision of a better future?
    • Does their work help and inspire ULI members and others to prepare for a changing world?
  2. Implementation
    • Is there a substantial production of the work, whether in the form of development, policies, books, conferences, prizes, publications and community engagement?
    • Does the work demonstrate a record of superior quality?
  3. Impact
    • Has the success of the work transcended itself (i.e. the individual project, practice, or policy), and inspired others?
    • What innovations have they introduced?
    • How have they inspired socially and environmentally responsible development?
    • Have they taken unique risks to enhance the overall quality of life in communities? And if so, what are the implications of these risks?