Downtowns

ULI started addressing downtown revitalization with the very first Advisory Services panel in 1947 in Louisville, Kentucky. Today, panels offer 60 years of experience and the collective professional experiences of ULI’s membership. Panels assist cities large and small to attract diverse residents and new development to neighborhoods and the downtown district.

Panels have explored the redevelopment of industrial land near Oklahoma City, the redevelopment of the Revere School neighborhood in Chicago, and the redevelopment of a historically African-American community near Uptown Charlotte in North Carolina.

Examples of downtown revitalization panels include:

copyrighted material 2006
St. Petersburg, Florida

Point Park University
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Tampa
Florida

Neighborhood Revitalization

Successful neighborhood revitalization balances the needs of existing residents with the potential of the market and developers to create and support new housing, retail, and civic uses. Revitalization strategies must engage diverse economic and cultural groups. From public housing redevelopment to infill opportunities, ULI panels help communities develop strategic revitalization models that keep neighborhoods intact while encouraging new investment.

Examples of neighborhood revitalization panels include:

Atlantic City_neighborhood
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Detroit_neighborhoods
Southwest Detroit, Michigan

Revere School Community
Chicago, Illinois

Ready to Learn More?

Paul Bernard
Executive Vice President, Advisory Services
202-624-7000
E-mail: Paul.Bernard@uli.org

Tom Eitler
Senior Vice President, Advisory Services
202-624-7186
E-mail: Tom.Eitler@uli.org

Deb Kerson Bilek
Vice President, Advisory Services
202-558-8530
E-mail: Deborah.Bilek@uli.org

Paul Angelone
Director, Advisory Services
202-624-7183
E-mail: Paul.angelone@uli.org

Lauren Callaghan
Director, Advisory Services
202-624-7008
E-mail: Lauren.Callaghan@uli.org

Jacqueline Canales
Director, Advisory Services
202-624-7172
E-mail: Jacqueline.Canales@uli.org

Georgia Gempler
Senior Associate, Advisory Services
202-701-1266
E-mail: Georgia.Gempler@uli.org

 

About Advisory Services